Day Procedure Centre Licence
EC Specialists Premium (PHF No. DP000104) 、EC Specialists Central (PHF No. DP000110)

Day Procedure Centre Licence
醫思專匯(PHF No. DP000104)
醫思聯匯(PHF No. DP000110)

Colorectal Cancer: the preventable — Colorectal Cancer is the most preventable cancer?

預防大腸癌

Colorectal Cancer is one of the common cancers. The increasing popularity of western lifestyles and an ageing population accelerates the incidence rate of colorectal cancer by 4.2% each year, but the ratio for early diagnosis is less than 10%.The latest data shows that the domestic incidence rate of colorectal cancer has an increasing trend while the age of people suffering from colorectal cancer is getting younger. The population of colorectal cancer patients is getting bigger and has the potential to exceed the population of lung cancer patients in cities such as Guangzhou and Shenzhen.

High Cure Rate Of Early Stage Colorectal Cancer

Patients diagnosed with an early stage colorectal cancer can recover their health fast if they have received timely consultation and treatment. According to recent clinical data, the survival rate of early stage colorectal cancer patients within 5 years after surgery is as high as 90%. Clinical cure is regarded as achieved if there is no recurrence or dissemination of colorectal cancer 5 years after surgery.

Unfortunately, most of the colorectal cancer patients are diagnosed with terminal colorectal cancer. Their cure rate is less than 50% with indescribable pain during the treatment. The treatment cost at this stage is so expensive that it imposes a great burden on the family. Even if they are cured, their quality of life will be greatly reduced. They will have to carry around a stoma bag with them to allow bodily waste to exit the body as the surgery will remove their anus through enterostomy.

Researchers have found that in one Grade A hospital in China that has carried out colonoscopy over 4000 times every year, colorectal cancer treatment over 1000 times but less than 200 diagnosed cases are by colonoscopy. Instead, the colonoscopy had spotted more colon polyp patients than colorectal cancer patients.Over 90% of the colorectal cancer patients that had received the treatment are diagnosed with developing colorectal cancer. What is more shocking is that 80%of them were misdiagnosed as benign conditions such as piles, colitis etc. in their initial consultation. Some of them even had a haemorrhoidectomy (piles removal surgery) andmissed the best time for curing colorectal cancer.If colorectal cancer is discovered 3 months earlier, the cure rate and lifespan of the patient will increase, as well as the painful procedure and treatment cost will reduce.

Subtle Symptoms In The Early Stage

Even though the symptoms of colorectal cancer are subtle in the early stage, you should be alert if you have the following conditions.

  • 1. Blood in the stool
    Having blood in the stool is the earliest symptom of colorectal cancer but other conditions may also cause blood in the stool, such as piles, colon polyps, ulcerative colitis, tuberculosis in the intestines etc. It may be difficult to spot blood in the stool but you should be cautious if the stool is bloody and medications do not help with the condition.

  • 2. Mucus, pus, and black stool
    Cancerous tumour at anal canal, rectum, sigmoid colon comes with different amounts of mucus or pus as it is close to the anus. Cancerous tumour in the ascending colon may cause black stool.

  • 3. Irregular bowel habits
    The frequency of stool may increase, as many as eight or nine times a day, passing very little stool, constipation, diarrhoea, drooping sensation in the anus etc.

  • 4. Change in forms of stool
    Colorectal cancer at the end of the rectum or in anal canal may shrink, squeeze, leave marks on the stool. Seek medical assistance if the condition persists.

Conduct Colonoscopy and Gastroscopy Regularly

The characteristics of the gastrointestinal tract make gastrointestinal diseases undetectable in regular body check tests such as blood test, ultrasound scanning, electrocardiography (ECG), computed tomography (CT), and MRI etc. Gastroscopy and colonoscopy are the most important methods for gastrointestinal examination and effective screening of colorectal cancer.

It is very important to conduct gastroscopy and colonoscopy regularly. Researchers have found that only30%-40%of those who have a positive faecal occult blood test (FOBT) result will conduct a colonoscopy for further investigation.60%-70%of them will not conduct a further investigation for the positive FOBT result due to many other concerns. However, if a timely checkup is not carried out, the colorectal cancer is more likely to develop into an intermediate or final stage. Colorectal cancer in these stages is not easy to cure and the prognosis will not be good.

Disclaimer: Photos are extracted from the Internet, please contact us if copyright infringement has occurred. The above information is for reference only. Seek medical assistance immediately if you feel unwell.

Register Now



*We will contact you for booking arrangement soon, please confirm with our staff before arrival.

Must fill

Do you take care of your digestive health?
Subscribe e-newsletter!

Must fill
仁輝內視鏡 Whatsapp
仁輝內視鏡 立即預約

衞生署日間醫療中心牌照
醫思專匯(PHF No. DP000104)、醫思聯匯(PHF No. DP000110)

衞生署日間醫療中心牌照
醫思專匯(PHF No. DP000104)
醫思聯匯(PHF No. DP000110)

這個殺手不太冷—大腸癌,是最容易預防的癌症?

預防大腸癌

大腸癌是最常見的惡性腫瘤之一,隨著生活方式日益西方化及老齡化的加劇,大腸癌發病率以每年4.2%的速度持續上升,但早期診斷比例卻不足10%。最新數據顯示,在我國發病率總體上呈上升趨勢,而發病年齡卻在年輕化,在北上廣深等一線都市,有可能超越肺癌成為新的癌症之王。

早期大腸癌治癒率高

一般來說,大腸癌早期的患者,如果及時到醫院進行就診和治療的話,那麼身體健康可以得到很快的恢復。現時臨床資料統計,對於早期的大腸癌經手術治療的5年生存率可以達到90%以上,而在術後5年,如果大腸癌不復發以及轉移就可以認為是臨床治癒。

但很多患者發現腸癌已經是晚期,治癒率還不到一半而且治療過程極為痛苦,高昂的費用還會給家庭造成極大的負擔。即使痊癒,生活質量也會大打折扣。很多患者都因此失去了肛門,只能通過腸造瘺手術,在腹部掛一個糞袋解决排便問題。

有研究顯示,某三甲醫院每年做結腸鏡檢查4000多例,結直腸癌診治1000多宗病例,其中通過結腸鏡檢查發現大腸癌早期病變的僅不到200宗病例,發現結腸息肉患者則更多。在這1000多例腸癌中,90%以上是進展期。更令人震驚的是,約80%的患者初次就診時被誤診為痔瘡、結腸炎等良性疾病,有的甚至當作痔瘡進行了手術,結果延誤了最佳的手術時機。大腸癌早發現三個月,經過治療後,可以明顯提高治癒率,不僅可以明顯減少治療費用,還能減輕痛苦、延長壽命。

大腸癌早期症狀不明顯

大腸癌早期症狀雖然不明顯,但當身體出現以下症狀時需要多加注意。

  • 便血
    便血是大腸癌的最早期症狀,但是便血不是大腸癌的特有症狀,內痔腸息肉、潰瘍性結直腸炎、腸結核等許多疾病也都有便血的症狀。少量出血的時候肉眼是不易發覺的,便血量較多時候,血色鮮紅經藥物治療無效就應該警惕大腸癌。

  • 粘液,膿液以及黑色的糞便
    距離肛門較近的肛管、直腸、乙狀結腸部位的癌腫往往帶有不同程度的粘液或膿液。升結腸的癌腫可能會有黑色大便。

  • 大便習慣的改變,大便不規律
    大便次數增多,一天多至八九次,排便量少,有時便秘,有時腹瀉,肛門有下墜感等。

  • 大便形態的改變
    發生在直腸末端或者是肛管的癌,長到一定程度的時候常使大便變細、變扁或者有溝槽,如果長期有類似狀況時,應及時就醫。

定期進行腸胃鏡檢查

由於胃腸道的特殊性,胃腸道疾病對一般體檢項目中的抽血、B超、心電圖、CT、核磁等檢查都不敏感。胃鏡和結腸鏡檢查才是進行胃腸檢查、有效篩查大腸癌的重要方法。

定期進行腸胃鏡檢查十分重要。有研究發現,在初篩大便隱血陽性推薦結腸鏡複篩的人群中,只有30%-40%人會進一步進行結腸鏡的檢查,60%-70%的人即使是初篩陽性也會因為諸多顧慮而選擇不接受進一步的複篩。但如果不及時進行腸鏡的檢查,早期腸癌患者很容易拖成到中晚期,療效和預後會大打折扣。

聲明:本文圖片均來源於網絡,如有侵權,請聯系删除。以上資料僅供參考,如身體有任何不適,請立即就醫。

立即登記



本中心將與您聯絡確認詳情,方為確實是次預約。

*必需填寫

關注你的消化系統健康嗎?
立即訂閱電子通訊!

*必需填寫
仁輝內視鏡 Whatsapp
仁輝內視鏡 立即預約