Day Procedure Centre Licence
EC Specialists Premium (PHF No. DP000104) 、EC Specialists Central (PHF No. DP000110)

Day Procedure Centre Licence
醫思專匯(PHF No. DP000104)
醫思聯匯(PHF No. DP000110)

Helicobacter pylori is a problem for half of the world's population!? HKMED unveil you the myth

Helicobacter pylori

A food poisoning incident in a family dinner in Jixi city of Heilongjiang province, has caused deaths recently. Bongkrekic acid contamination is a leading cause for severe food poisoning and deaths and it is suspected to be responsible for this incident. Its heat resistant trait makes it hard to break down even if the food is cooked under 100℃ or steamed in a pressure cooker.

Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori ) is also a bacteria surrounding us that can survive in the worst environment and make half of the world’s population suffer. According to the Chinese consensus on eradication of Helicobacter pylori and prevention & control of gastric cancer published in the Chinese Journal of Digestion in 2019, H. pylori infection is the leading cause for stomach cancer in China. 15%- 20% of patients have developed peptic ulcer, 5% - 10% of patients have developed H. pylori-related indigestion, 1% have developed malignant tumours in the stomach.

Helicobacter pylori stays in the mucosal tissue of the stomach, and causes diseases like chronic gastritis and peptic ulcers. It is recognised as group 1 carcinogen by the WHO, and is closely related to the diseases such as stomach cancer, mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue (MALT) lymphoma etc. If we have H. pylori in our stomach, diseases like gastritis, peptic ulcer, lymphoid hyperplasia are coming after us and stomach cancer will occur if no timely remedy is carried out. In China, stomach cancer has the second most deaths among all cancers.

Around 50% of the world’s population are infected with H. pylori. The prevalence of H. pylori infection varies widely among countries and regions, and among different ethnic groups, depending on socioeconomic level, population density, public health conditions, and water supply. eason . The infection rate of H. pylori will also increase with age. The rate in developing countries is usually higher of about 50%-80% while it is lower in developed countries of about 25%-50%. The rate in China is around 50%.

H. pylori is responsible for stomach discomfort. The reason why there are so many people suffering from chronic gastritis and peptic ulcer is also because of this. However, some significant symptoms will appear if H. pylori is invading and it is recommended to take suitable and timely treatment if you feel unwell. It is the only way to restore the health of your stomach by eliminating all the H. pylori in there.

How do we get H. pylori?

  1. Food & Drink
    You may get H. pylori from eating raw food. More and more people like eating sashimi as they want to have the freshest taste, and the original flavour of the food. Other than getting H. pylori, you may also get parasitic worms. The risk of catching H. pylori will increase if you are a frequent sashimi eater.
  2. Public Goods
    H. pylori can be transmitted through saliva. If we often eat out, we may come into contact with some public goods that are not being sterilised at high temperature. From that, we are prone to infect H. pylori if we are using utensils that were previously used by people infected with H. pylori.
  3. Bad Personal Hygiene
    Some people with bad personal hygiene will not wash their hands after going to the toilet. Their hands are likely to be contaminated with H. pylori as it exists in the mouth and stomach, and in stools.

Those unwashed hands will infect their owner with H. pylori, spread it and put other’s health in great danger.

Important signal of H. pylori!

People can be infected with H. pylori without any significant symptoms and the symptoms vary depending on the infected areas. 30% of the infection will develop into chronic gastritis while 10%-20% will develop into peptic ulcer and very few of the infection will develop into stomach cancer and mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue (MALT) lymphoma.

  • Loss of appetite
    You will have a bad appetite after being infected with H. pylori. It is because the infection will damage the stomach function and slow down the digestion process. The body will ring the alarm by having a bad appetite if the body cannot obtain enough nutrients from food. Therefore, it is recommended to conduct some tests if you have noticed that you are losing your appetite and are having trouble having a stable meal timing.

  • Stomach Ache
    One of the symptoms of H. pylori infection is having unexplained, painful stomach ache. The stomach is inflamed when the H. pylori has stayed in the stomach for a period of time. The inflamed gastric mucosa is further irritated by the gastric acid and causes persistent stomach ache.

    Therefore, it is recommended for those who have persistent stomach ache to conduct some tests for H. pylori investigation. The infection can be managed by treatments and avoid stomach disorders.

  • Bloating
    Frequent unexplained bloating and upper abdomen discomfort can be because of H. pylori infection. Foods accumulate in the stomach as the digestion is not going well after H. pylori infection. This will create a big amount of gas, making it easy to feel bloated.

    Therefore, it is recommended to stay alert if you have frequent unexplained bloating and upper abdomen discomfort after meals.

  • Nausea and Vomiting
    When infected with H. pylori, many people experience vomiting. Your body can only be functioning well when the stomach is functioning normally to digest food and provide nutrients. People with H. pylori infection may throw up after eating. This only appears when the digestive function is damaged.

    When the stomach is damaged, the patient will puke easily under irritation in the stomach. Keep an eye on bacterial infection when there is any unexplained vomiting. Use medication timely and keep a healthy lifestyle to improve the condition.

  • Heart Burn
    The secretion of stomach acid will increase as the stomach is not functioning normally after H. pylori infection. This will cause heartburn and affect the oesophageal mucosa. Conduct tests to further investigate the reason and make timely remedy once the condition persists.

Prevention of H. pylori

Helicobacter pylori is contagious and can be transmitted through direct contact with dirty hands, dirty food, dirty cutleries, faeces etc. The habit of maintaining good personal hygiene is crucial in staying away from H. pylori infection and transmission.

  • Wash your hands before eating and after going to the toilet: eat cooked food, drink boiled water, wash and peel the fruits and vegetables before eating them raw.

  • Maintain Good Oral Hygiene: H. pylori can replicate on tartar that is hard to clean and may cause bad breath. It is recommended to keep good oral hygiene by brushing and rinsing your mouth after each meal, changing your toothbrush and sanitising your cups and utensils regularly.

  • Regular Body Check: Living with family members who are infected with H. pylori are at high risk of getting it too. Having a regular body check allows early prevention of the infection and conducts timely treatment.

  • Proactive Measures: H. pylori infection appears in household clusters. Taking proactive measures can prevent recurrence and spreading the infection.

*Photos are extracted from the Internet, please contact us if copyright infringement has occurred. The above information is for reference only. Seek medical assistance immediately if you feel unwell.

Register Now



*We will contact you for booking arrangement soon, please confirm with our staff before arrival.

Must fill

Do you take care of your digestive health?
Subscribe e-newsletter!

Must fill
仁輝內視鏡 Whatsapp
仁輝內視鏡 立即預約

衞生署日間醫療中心牌照
醫思專匯(PHF No. DP000104)、醫思聯匯(PHF No. DP000110)

衞生署日間醫療中心牌照
醫思專匯(PHF No. DP000104)
醫思聯匯(PHF No. DP000110)

幽門螺旋菌侵擾一半人的生活,仁輝專科為您解惑!

幽門螺旋菌

近期,黑龍江省雞西市雞東縣某家庭聚餐引發中毒造成多人死亡,初步定性為由椰毒假單胞菌污染產生米酵菌酸引起的食物中毒事件。椰毒假單胞菌產生的米酵菌酸是引起嚴重的食物中毒和死亡的主要原因,其耐熱性極强,即使用100℃的開水煮沸或用高壓鍋蒸煮也不能破壞其毒性。

而在我們的日常生活中,也有一種細菌能在極惡劣的條件下存活,並且侵擾著50%的人們,它就是幽門螺旋菌。2019年4月發佈在中國消化雜誌上的《中國幽門螺桿菌根除與胃癌防控專家共識》指出,幽門螺桿菌感染是中國胃癌的主要病因,幽門螺桿菌感染患者15%-20%發生消化性潰瘍,5%-10%發生Hp相關性消化不良,1%發生胃惡性腫瘤。

幽門螺旋菌(Helicobacter pylori,Hp),常寄生在胃黏膜組織中,感染後主要引起慢性胃炎和消化性潰瘍等疾病,與胃癌、胃黏膜相關淋巴組織(MALT)淋巴瘤等疾病有密切的關係,被世界衛生組織(WHO)列為第一類生物致癌因數。這種菌對人並不友好,如果我們的胃中存在這種菌,那麼很容易引起胃炎、消化道潰瘍,甚至是淋巴增生等疾病,如果不及時進行治療,很容易導致胃癌的發生,而在中國癌症死亡中,胃癌位居第二。

全球範圍內,大概一半的人都感染過幽門螺桿菌,不同國家和地區、不同種族人群的幽門螺桿菌感染率有很大的差異,主要與社會經濟水準、人口密集程度、公共衛生條件以及水源供應等密切相關。幽門螺桿菌感染率隨著年齡增長而新增。在开发中国家,幽門螺桿菌感染率相對較高,約為50%~80%;而在已開發國家,幽門螺旋菌感染率較低,約為25%~50%;中國平均感染率為50%左右。

幽門螺旋菌的入侵,會導致胃部功能下降,很多人之所以有胃潰瘍,慢性胃炎產生影響健康,也和該病菌持續入侵有關,當然,幽門螺旋菌影響健康的過程中,並非無跡可尋,相關的症狀也會出現。如果感覺到身體有異樣,應該儘早察覺並採取合理的治療措施,只有將胃部的幽門螺旋菌殺滅,胃部才能恢復健康狀態

幽門螺桿菌從何而來?

  1. 飲食
    一般來說,幽門螺桿菌主要存在於一些生食裡面,很多人喜歡吃刺身,講究原汁原味,但是這些生食裡面不僅存在著幽門螺桿菌,而且寄生蟲也比較多,如果經常去食用,就很容易染上這些幽門螺桿菌,這對身體非常不好的。
  2. 公共用品
    幽門螺桿菌是可以通過唾液來進行傳染的,倘若我們經常在外面吃飯,就會接觸到一些公共用品。如果這些公共用品沒有經過高溫消毒,那麼它殘留的細菌就很多了,倘若之前使用的人,他體內含有幽門螺桿菌,那麼下一個使用的人感染上這種菌的幾率是非常大的。
  3. 個人衛生
    有些人在排便後,不注重個人衛生,經常性不洗手,那麼他的手上很有可能會沾有一些幽門螺桿菌,這種細菌不僅會存在人的胃裡、嘴巴裏,而且它還會出現在糞便中。

倘若不及時進行洗手,那麼在之後的工作中,很容易將這種細菌傳遞到其他人身上,這不僅會危害到其他人的身體健康,同時也會讓這些菌進入到我們自己的體內,對自己造成危害。

幽門螺桿菌症狀你要知!

部分人群感染幽門螺桿菌後可以沒有明顯症狀,也可能不會發病。幽門螺桿菌感染的症狀因發病部位不同而有所差別。幽門螺桿菌感染者中約30%進展為慢性胃炎,10%~20%發展為消化性潰瘍,少數發展為胃癌和MALT淋巴瘤。

  • 食欲不振
    受到幽門螺旋菌的感染,會有食欲不振的表現,因為局部的病菌入侵導致胃部功能受損,消化速度緩慢,食物攝入之後無法被人體正常消化並吸收營養物質,會通過胃口下降、食欲不振等表現發出訊號。如果短時間內,發現自己的胃口下降了許多,三餐無法規律,正常獲取人體需要的營養,需要及時檢查,判斷是否受到病菌入侵影響胃部功能。

  • 胃部疼痛
    在幽門螺旋菌入侵之後,胃部疼痛感相對明顯,很多人莫名的胃痛,這種情況也是疾病發出的訊號。幽門螺旋菌在胃部寄生的時間長,胃部炎症產生,局部粘膜又受損,胃酸分泌出來之後進一步刺激了胃黏膜,會反復感覺到胃部有疼痛感。

    因此,經常胃痛的人,最好去檢查判斷是否幽門螺旋菌入侵,有病菌感染現象可以通過合理的治療來控制,防止胃部功能下降明顯。

  • 胃脹氣
    莫名的感覺到胃脹氣,無法保持胃部輕鬆狀態,上腹部總是有不適感,這種情況產生和幽門螺旋菌入侵有關。病菌在入侵的過程中胃部功能受損,消化速度緩慢,很多人會有消化不良的表現。

    食物在胃部堆積的時間長,產生的氣體量多,容易有胃脹氣的感覺。因此,經常感覺到自己胃脹氣,攝入食物之後上腹部不適感明顯,同樣需要警惕幽門螺旋菌入侵。

  • 噁心嘔吐
    受到幽門螺旋菌的感染,很多人還會有嘔吐的錶現,攝入食物之後嘔吐說明胃部功能受損,胃部保持功能良好,食物攝入被身體正常消化,營養物質及時提供,身體才可以正常運轉。

    但是,很多人在幽門螺旋菌寄生的過程中,胃部受到傷害,在刺激影響下還容易嘔吐。針對身體莫名的嘔吐表現要瞭解是否和病菌入侵有關,及時用藥以及保持良好生活習慣才能改善。

  • 反酸燒心
    有明顯的反酸燒心等現象,同樣需要警惕幽門螺旋菌入侵,該病菌在人體胃部寄生的過程中,影響了胃功能,胃酸的分泌量多,可能會反酸燒心,甚至導致食管黏膜受影響。經常有這種特殊表現,不確定原因的情况下可以通過檢查來得知,有病菌感染現象及時治療很重要。

日常生活中如何預防幽門螺桿菌呢?

幽門螺旋菌有傳染性,可通過手、不潔食物、不潔餐具、糞便等途徑傳染,所以日常飲食要養成良好的衛生習慣,預防感染和傳染。

  • 做到飯前、便後洗手:儘量吃經過高溫加熱的熟食,喝開水,生吃瓜果蔬菜時洗淨、去皮。

  • 注意口腔衛生:幽門螺桿菌可在牙垢上生長繁殖,感染幽門螺桿菌後可能導致口腔有異味,難以清潔,因此需注意口腔衛生。提倡每餐後刷牙和餐後漱口,定期更換牙刷,定期消毒杯洗具。

  • 定期體檢:已有家庭成員明確診斷幽門螺旋菌感染後,與其生活在一起的其他成員陽性率非常高,因此應及早防治。

  • 感染者需積極治療:幽門螺桿菌感染常常呈現家族聚集的現象,所以為了有效的根除幽門螺桿菌,防止二次感染,則應積極治療幽門螺桿菌感染的家庭成員,避免感染其他人。

*本文圖片均來源於網絡,如有侵權,請聯系删除。以上資料僅供參考,如身體有任何不適,請立即就醫。

立即登記



本中心將與您聯絡確認詳情,方為確實是次預約。

*必需填寫

關注你的消化系統健康嗎?
立即訂閱電子通訊!

*必需填寫
仁輝內視鏡 Whatsapp
仁輝內視鏡 立即預約