Day Procedure Centre Licence
EC Specialists Premium (PHF No. DP000104) 、EC Specialists Central (PHF No. DP000110)

Day Procedure Centre Licence
醫思專匯(PHF No. DP000104)
醫思聯匯(PHF No. DP000110)

Colon polyps become colon cancer?

What is a colon polyp?

A colon polyp is an abnormal growth of tissue protruding from the mucous membrane and is usually formed on the wall of the colon. It may form on the rectum as well. Colorectal cancer continues to be the most common cancer in Hong Kong and the number of colorectal cancer patients is increasing every year. Colon polyps are usually the cause of colorectal cancer. It is recommended to conduct a colonoscopy regularly to make an early treatment to avoid the polyp from enlarging or becoming cancerous. Hong Kong Cancer Fund recommends people aged 50 or above to consult with their doctor about having a colonoscopy on a regular basis.

大腸瘜肉

Two Types of Polyps

【Hyperplastic Polyps】
Hyperplastic Polyps usually in the form of tiny bumps on the rectum and the colon sigmoid. Its colour is similar to and usually lighter than that of the intestinal mucosa.
Hyperplastic Polyps are unlikely to develop into malignant tumours. However, it is not possible to determine if the polyp is benign or malignant. A polyp removal procedure will be carried out and have the tissue sent for a cancer biopsy.

【Adenomatous Polyps】
Adenomatous Polyps appear in various forms and reddish colour on the colon. It is a cancerous type of polyp and is likely to develop into colorectal cancer within 10-15 years. It is recommended to conduct a colonoscopy to make an early treatment to prevent the occurrence of colorectal cancer.

腸瘜肉成因

Risk Factors

Symptoms

Symptoms

Do I have to remove my polyps?

Most colorectal cancers are developed from a polyp. Even though most polyps are benign at the early stage, it is possible for the polyps to further deteriorate and become cancerous if a timely removal procedure is not carried out. Therefore, if a bowel polyp is found, it should be removed immediately.

切除瘜肉

Can I have my polyps removed while having a colonoscopy?

Colonoscopy is a common intestinal exam in Hong Kong. It uses a soft intestinal endoscope of diameter around 1.3 cm to enter your colon from the anus and examine your colon wall carefully. The doctor can know the condition of your colon wall from the screen. It is also possible to remove polyps with other medical devices simultaneously. The doctor may take tissues for a biopsy if the polyps are suspected to be cancerous.

Colon Polyps Q&A

Register Now



*We will contact you for booking arrangement soon, please confirm with our staff before arrival.

Must fill

Do you take care of your digestive health?
Subscribe e-newsletter!

Must fill
仁輝內視鏡 Whatsapp
仁輝內視鏡 立即預約

衞生署日間醫療中心牌照
醫思專匯(PHF No. DP000104)、醫思聯匯(PHF No. DP000110)

衞生署日間醫療中心牌照
醫思專匯(PHF No. DP000104)
醫思聯匯(PHF No. DP000110)

大腸瘜肉會變腸癌嗎?

大腸瘜肉是什麼?

大腸瘜肉是由大腸黏膜組織異常增生形成的細胞腫塊。大腸瘜肉呈凸起狀,一般會生長於大腸壁上,亦有少數生長於大腸中的直腸段。在香港,大腸癌持續成為本港最常見癌症,大腸癌新症數字更每年遞增,而「腸瘜肉」正是引致大腸癌的重要成因。透過適時進行大腸鏡檢查,及早發現並將腸瘜肉切除,可有效阻截瘜肉繼續增大或發生癌變。而按香港癌症基金呼籲,年滿50歲人士應與醫生商討,適時進行大腸鏡檢查。

大腸瘜肉

大腸瘜肉主要分為兩大種類

【增生性瘜肉 Hyperplastic polyps】
一般呈微小的凸起狀,常生長於直腸及乙狀結腸,增生性瘜肉的顏色近於腸粘膜,但較偏白。
雖然增生性瘜肉演化成惡性腫瘤的機會較低,但由於瘜肉無法透過內視鏡準確地進行良性/惡性上的區分,因此一般會切除腸瘜肉,再作組織化驗是否有癌細胞。

【腺瘤性瘜肉 Adenomatous polyps】
形狀多樣化,顏色較為偏紅,會生長於大腸內不同位置,屬癌前病變,具有較高風險在10至15年間由一粒細小瘜肉演變成大腸癌。惟及早透過大腸內視鏡檢查發現及適時將腸瘜肉切除,可有助避免大腸癌的發生。

腸瘜肉成因

腸瘜肉成因和高危因素

腸瘜肉症狀

腸瘜肉症狀

腸瘜肉一定要切除?

大腸癌演變過程大部分都由一粒大腸瘜肉開始,雖然大部份的大腸瘜肉在初期階段為良性,但若不適時切除,則有機會進一步惡化,繼而發生癌變,形成大腸癌。因此一旦發現腸瘜肉,應儘早切除。

切除瘜肉

做大腸鏡(內視鏡)檢查可以邊檢查邊切除腸瘜肉?

大腸內視鏡檢查是香港常見的腸道檢查,過程會透過一條直徑約1.3厘米而柔軟的軟管大腸內視鏡,經肛門進入大腸內,並為大腸內壁作仔細的檢查。醫生可從螢幕觀察大腸內壁的狀況,同時配合其他儀器來進行瘜肉切除。醫生如有懷疑瘜肉有癌變可能,將再抽取組織樣本進行化驗,以分辨瘜肉是屬於良性或是惡性。

腸瘜肉相關問題

立即登記



本中心將與您聯絡確認詳情,方為確實是次預約。

*必需填寫

關注你的消化系統健康嗎?
立即訂閱電子通訊!

*必需填寫
仁輝內視鏡 Whatsapp
仁輝內視鏡 立即預約